How to select all photos on iphone and delete them?

Learn how to delete the photos and videos that you don't want, and learn how to get your photos back if you delete them accidentally.

Make space on your device

Before you delete anything, make sure that you back up the photos and videos that you still want. When you use iCloud Photos and delete a photo or video on one device, it's also deleted on all other devices where you're signed in with the same Apple ID. Learn how to delete photos and videos in iCloud Photos on iCloud.com.

To see how much storage you have left on your device, go to Settings > General > [Device] Storage. Learn more about managing your device photo storage.


Keep only what you want

Tap Bin to delete photos and videos from your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. When you delete photos, they go into your Recently Deleted album. They'll stay in there for 30 days in case you need to restore them, and then they will be permanently deleted.

If you add photos to your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch from your computer, you can't delete them directly from your device in the Photos app. Learn how to delete the photos from iTunes.

Delete a photo

  1. Open the Photos app.
  2. Tap All Photos and select the photo or video that you want to delete.
  3. Tap Bin > Delete Photo.

Delete multiple photos

  1. Open the Photos app and tap All Photos, then tap Select.
  2. Tap multiple photos, or slide your finger across multiple photos to select more than one.
  3. Tap Bin to delete multiple photos.


Get your photos back

If you accidentally delete a photo, you have 30 days to get it back from your Recently Deleted album. When you recover photos and videos, they go back into your All Photos album.

  1. Open the Photos app and go to the Albums tab.
  2. Open the Recently Deleted album and tap Select.
  3. Tap each photo or video that you want to keep.
  4. Tap Recover and confirm that you want to recover the photos.

If you're missing a photo or video, you can try these steps to find it.


Delete photos permanently

If you want to permanently delete your photos or videos within 30 days, you can remove them from the Recently Deleted album. When you delete a photo from this album, you can't get it back.

  1. Open the Photos app and go to the Albums tab.
  2. Open the Recently Deleted album and tap Select.
  3. Tap each photo or video that you want to permanently delete.
  4. Tap Delete and confirm that you want to delete the photos.


Delete and reset everything

Before you sell or give away your device, you should reset it and delete all of your photos and videos. When you erase the content and settings on your device, everything is removed and reset — including songs, videos, contacts, photos, calendar information and anything else — but stays stored securely in iCloud. All of your device settings are restored to their factory condition. Learn what to do before you sell, give away or trade in your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch.